Clark School Home UMD

ECE News Story

Three ECE Students Named Outstanding Graduate Assistants

Three ECE Students Named Outstanding Graduate Assistants

ECE graduate assistants Shahriar Aghaeimeibodi, Usman Fiaz, and Aneesh Raghavan are three of approximately 80 winners of the University of Maryland Graduate School’s 2017-2018 Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award. The award recognizes the outstanding contributions that graduate assistants provide to students, faculty, departments, administrative units, and the university as a whole. Recipients of the award are among the top 2 percent of GAs on campus in a given year.

Shahriar Aghaeimeibodi is advised by Prof. Edo Waks (ECE/IREAP/JQI). His area of research is at the intersection of engineering and quantum physics, with emphasis on strongly interacting light and matter and Quantum photonic structures. He is a member of the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics (IREAP) and the Joint Quantum Institute (JQI).

Usman Fiaz is advised by Prof. John Baras (ECE/ISR). His research interests are in Robotics and Control Systems, with emphasis on autonomous multi-agent systems. He is affiliated with the Autonomy, Robotics, and Cognition (ARC) Lab and the Institute for Systems Research (ISR).

Aneesh Raghavan is advised by Prof. John Baras (ECE/ISR). His research interests are in control and networked cyber-physical systems. He focuses on understanding the value of information, the application of non-commutative probability models and the effects of order in measurements in decision problems involving multiple agents. He is affiliated with ISR.

The awards will be given at the Annual Fellowship and Award Celebration on May 8.

Related Articles:
ECE Ph.D. Student Min Zhou wins Best Student Paper Award at AMEREM2018
Alumnus Omur Ozel joins George Washington University as tenure-track faculty
Munday Receives DARPA Young Faculty Award
Khaligh Leads NSF-Funded REU and IRES Summer Programs 
Ulukus Named ECE Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
Baras and Mayergoyz named Distinguished University Professors
ECE Inducts Three New Distinguished Alumni
Alumnus Ravi Tandon Receives 2018 Keysight Early Career Professor Award 
ECE Names 2017-2018 Distinguished Dissertation Fellows
Ulukus named Anthony Ephremides Professor in Information Sciences and Systems

May 3, 2018

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Biofilm treatment device receives TEDCO MII funding; paper published in IEEE TBME

UMD Researchers Conduct Field Tests to Evaluate the Atmosphere’s Effect on Lasers

Alumnus Profile: Robert Cobb

MC2 Faculty, Students Have Five Papers Accepted to ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security

Bhattacharyya awarded NIH Grant to Explore Real-time Neural Decoding for Calcium Imaging

With Engineering Projects, UMD Students Seek to Boost Education Access, Public Health, and Sustainability

Shoukry, Krishnaprasad receive NSF grant for resilient-by-cognition cyber-physical systems

UMD to Lead Milestone NSF High School Engineering Pilot Course

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts