Clark School Home UMD
Return to Faculty Directory

Abed, Eyad H.

A.V. Williams 1321

Research Interests 

Dr. Abed's research includes contributions on the following subjects: control of nonlinear systems exhibiting bifurcation and chaos; singular perturbation analysis and reduced-order modeling; nonlinear stability and stabilization; linear robust stability; gas turbine jet engine dynamics and control; electric power system dynamics and control; tethered satellite control; aircraft control; and radar system dynamics.


Eyad H. Abed received the S.B. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1979, and the M.S. and Ph.D.degrees in 1981 and 1982, respectively, from the University of California at Berkeley, all in Electrical Engineering. He has been with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland since 1983, where he has served as Professor. He also previously served as Director of the Institute for Systems Research. Dr. Abed is a recipient of the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation, the O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper award from the American Automatic Control Council, a Senior Fulbright Scholar Award from the Council for the International Exchange of Scholars, the Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award of the Institute for Systems Research, the Alan Berman Research Publication Award from the Naval Research Laboratory, and two teaching awards from the University of Maryland. He is also a Fellow of the IEEE. He serves on the Advisory Editorial Board of Nonlinear Dynamics.

Honors and Awards 

  • IEEE Fellow (2002)
  • Senior Fulbright Scholar Award, from the Council for the International Exchange of Scholars, Washington, D.C. (1996-1997)
  • O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, American Automatic Control Council (1994)
  • Alan Berman Research Publication Award, Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C. (1992)
  • Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award, Institute for Systems Research, University of Maryland (1990)
  • NSF Presidential Young Investigator (1987)
  • George Corcoran Award, ECE Department, University of Maryland (1984)
  • Outstanding Professor Award, IEEE Student Branch, University of Maryland (1983)
  • Advisory Editorial Board of Nonlinear Dynamics

Related News 

John Baras to receive 2018 AIAA Aerospace Communications Award
Baras honored for his technical contributions and commercialization leadership of Internet over satellite, hybrid satellites, and terrestrial networks. August 5, 2018

Student Teams Win $5,000 In Scholarship Funding
Radar systems featured in Northrop Grumman Sensing for Autonomous Vehicles Challenge. May 31, 2018

ECE Names 2017-2018 Distinguished Dissertation Fellows
The fellowships are awarded to outstanding students in the final stages of dissertation work in recognition of their research excellence. April 18, 2018

Hovercraft Competition Serves as Unique Final Exam
Introduction to Engineering Design final encourages team work and hands-on education June 18, 2014

Abed Invited to Speak at Texas A & M University at Quatar

UMD professor discusses information dynamics in social networks. March 21, 2013

Baras delivers distinguished lecture at UAEU
Speaks on security and trust in communication, information and social networks. June 4, 2010

Abed gives plenary lecture at IEEE Multi-Conference on Systems and Control
ISR director speaks on monitoring the vulnerability of complex uncertain systems. July 21, 2009

Alumnus Priya Ranjan to join IIT Kanpur faculty
Former student of Eyad Abed and Richard La will become assistant professor of electrical engineering. June 10, 2009

Eyad Abed to Join United Arab Emirates University
ISR director, ECE professor will become dean of UAEU's College of Information Technology. May 14, 2009

ECE Faculty Win MURI Research Awards
ECE faculty members to work on multidisciplinary research projects awarded by the DoD. May 11, 2009