Clark School Home UMD
Return to Faculty Directory

Davis, Christopher

Christopher Davis
Minta Martin Professor of Engineering
ECE, ISR, Maryland Optics Group
Kim Building 2124

Research Interests 

Free space optical and directional RF communication systems, atmospheric turbulence, advanced surveillance systems, plasmonics, chemical and biological sensors, interferometry, optical systems, bioelectromagnetics, RF dosimetry.

Currently active research includes optical and RF directional wireless, real-time advanced surveillance systems with “event” detection, the optical properties of nanostructures where surface plasmons can be excited, laser interferometry, dielectrometry, fiber sensors and biosensors, magnetooptics, optical trace detection, atmospheric turbulence, optical communication systems and devices, and studies of the biological effects of non-ionizingradiation.  Latest papers: (1) R. Fainchtein, D.M. Brown, K.M. Siegrist, A.H. Monica, E. Hwang, S. D. Milner, and C.C. Davis, “Time-Dependent Near-Blackbody Thermal Emission from Pulsed Laser-Irradiated Vertically Aligned Carbon Nanotube Arrays," Physical Review B 85, 125432-1 125432-12. 2012. (2) H. Zhang, J. Llorca, C.C. Davis, and S.D. Milner.  Nature-Inspired SelfOrganization, Control, and Optimization in Heterogeneous Wireless Networks.  IEEE Trans. Mob. Comp. 11, 1207-1222, 2012. His past research has covered gas lasers, photon counting, chemical lasers, molecular relaxation processes, diode-pumped solid-state lasers, laser noise and instabilities, injection locking of broad area laser diodes, nonlinear imaging of ferroelectric and ferromagnetic materials, and near-field scanning optical microscopy.


Christopher C. Davis is Minta Martin Professor of Engineering and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park. He received the B.A. degree (with Honors) in Natural Sciences from the University of Cambridge in 1965, the M.A. degree from the University of Cambridge in 1970, and the Ph.D. degree in Physics from the University of Manchester in 1970. From 1973-1975 he was an Instructor/Research Associate at Cornell University, and from 1982-83 was a Senior Visiting Fellow at the University of Cambridge. He has been a recipient of the following Honors and Awards:  University of Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Teacher, 1989-90; Fellow of the Institute of Physics, 1989; AT&T/ASEE Award for Excellence in Engineering Education,1990; Fellow of the IEEE, 1993; Invention of the Year Award in Information Technology, University of Maryland, 2000; Poole and Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty, 2012. Professor Davis is the author of the widely used text “Lasers and Electro-Optics,” published by Cambridge University Press, and co-author with Jack Moore and Mike Coplan of the best selling text “Building Scientific Apparatus,” recently published in its 4th edition by Cambridge University Press. He is also author or co-author of 14 chapters in books, 215 refereed journal articles and over 295 conference papers, and is the holder of twelve awarded and several pending patents. He is Conference co-Chair of the SPIE Free Space Laser Communications Conference, and is a frequent invited lecturer both nationally and internationally. He has served as a scientific consultant to several US Government agencies and industry. He is a member of the IEEE Committee SCC-34 SC2, which deals with RF exposure from wireless devices.

Honors and Awards 

    •    Clark School of Engineering Poole and Kent Senior Faculty Teaching Award (2012)
    •    University of Maryland Invention of the Year Award in Information Science (2000)
    •    Technology Education Award of Distinction awarded by the Technology Education Association of Maryland (1994)
    •    Fellow of IEEE (1993)
    •    NASA Certificate of Recognition for Fiber Injection Locked Broad Area Laser (1992)
    •    AT&T/ASEE Award for Excellence in Engineering Education (1990)
    •    Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award, University of Maryland (1989-1990)
    •    Fellow of the Institute of Physics (1989)
    •    NSF Creativity Award (1983)
    •    S.E.R.C. Senior Visiting Fellow, University of Cambridge (1982)
    •    George Corcoran Award, ECE Department, University of Maryland (1978)


Related News 

UMD Researchers Conduct Field Tests to Evaluate the Atmosphere’s Effect on Lasers
The project is funded under the Office of Naval Research Atmospheric Propagation Studies for High Energy Lasers program. October 18, 2018

Alumnus Profile: Pratik Gupta
Pratik Gupta graduated from UMD's ENTS Program in 2006. Ten years later he founded Strom Motors, an electric car start-up based in Mumbai, India. July 9, 2018

ECE Names 2017-2018 Distinguished Dissertation Fellows
The fellowships are awarded to outstanding students in the final stages of dissertation work in recognition of their research excellence. April 18, 2018

TEDCO Invests $1M into Innovative Companies Including Rajeev Barua’s Startup SecondWrite LLC
SecondWrite LLC has received TEDCO funding from the state of Maryland for an amount of $100,000. July 27, 2017

Chellappa Named Distinguished University Professor
Prof. Chellappa has been named a University of Maryland distinguished university professor, the most prestigious internal honor on campus. August 15, 2016

UMD Inventors Zoom In on New Camera Technology 
Inventors Blaze New Frontier of Video Imaging through Real Time HDR Video Capture April 20, 2016

Ulukus Named 2016-2017 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by University of Maryland
The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Program honors members of UMD faculty who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements along with equally outstanding accomplishments as teachers. April 19, 2016

UMD Invention of the Year Nominees Push Boundaries in Health, Energy, and Security
Campus inventors to be honored at Celebration of Innovation and Partnerships April 7, 2016

Fisher Named Chair of the Fischell Department of Bioengineering
Dr. John P. Fisher to succeed Dr. William E. Bentley as department chair, effective Jan. 4, 2016. November 4, 2015

ECE Names 2014-2015 Distinguished Dissertation Fellows
Five Electrical and Computer Engineering Ph.D. students were selected as ECE Distinguished Dissertation Fellows for 2014-15. May 14, 2015