The Aldert van der Ziel Award is given for distinguished educational and research contributions to the field of electronic devices and materials. Past recipients of this prestigious award include Arthur Milnes, Lester Eastman, Herbert Kroemer (Nobel Laureate Physics 2000), Michael Shur, Marvin White, and Jim Plummer. The 2005 winner will be announced at the banquet.

Student Awards

Each year, we recognize the excellent work of students with four ISDRS Best Student Poster and Best Student Presentation awards. Winners are judged by the program committee during the conference and announced at the end of the conference. Student authors are requested to indicate "Student Paper" in the upper right-hand corner of their submitted abstract in order to be considered for this award.

ISDRS 2005 Student Awards:

  • Best Student Poster Award (Materials):
    Jingqun Xi (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), "Optical Thin Films with Very Low Refractive Index and Their Application in Photonic Devices"

  • Best Student Poster Award (Devices):
    Stephen Sudirgo (Rochester Institute of Technology), "Analysis of the Biasing Conditions and Latching Operation for Si/SiGe Resonant Interband Tunnel Diode Based Tunneling SRAM"

  • Best Student Presentation Award (Materials)
    Han Chung Lin (Purdue University), "Electrical Characterization of Ultrathin Atomic-layer-deposited Al2O3 on GaAs"

  • Best Student Presentation Award (Devices)
    Hao-Chih Yuan (University of Wisconsin-Madison), "N-type Thin-Film Transistors Fabricated on Transferred, Elastically Strain-Shared Si/SiO2/Si Membranes"

RegistrationHotelSubmitManuscriptProgramCommitteesTravel | AwardsExhibitsSponsors

This page was last modified on Saturday, December 17, 2005.