Arvelo, Eslami, Martins, Prange, Singh Honored at ECE Welcome Back Reception

news story image

Prof. Patrick O'Shea (left) poses with Mohammed Eslami. Photo by Jess Molina.

ECE faculty, staff, and students were honored at the Department’s annual Welcome Back Reception on Tuesday, September 7, 2010. ECE Chairman Dr. Patrick O'Shea was on hand to present awards.

Melanie Prange, Assistant Director of the Graduate Studies Office, received the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Staff Award in recognition of outstanding service to faculty, staff, and students.

Dr. O’Shea also honored staff members Tracy Chung and Carlos Luceno for five years of service and Peter Krusen, Vivian Lu, and LaShanna Young for 10 years of service.

The George Corcoran Memorial Award for a graduate student, presented each year to a graduate teaching assistant in recognition of excellence in teaching, was awarded to two students this year: Eduardo Arvelo and Mohammed Eslami.

The George Corcoran Memorial Award for faculty was presented to Professor Nuno Martins, who was recognized for showing exemplary contributions to teaching and educational leadership.

The ECE Graduate Student Service Award was given to last year’s ECE Graduate Student Association (ECEGSA) President Satinder Pal Singh, in recognition of exceptional service to the Department.

To see photos from the ECE Welcome Back Reception, please click here:

Published September 8, 2010