Faculty Directory

Lin, Ming

Lin, Ming

Dr. Barry Mersky and Capital One Endowed Professor
Distinguished University Professor
Computer Science
Maryland Robotics Center
Electrical and Computer Engineering
5162 Brendan Iribe Center


Tracing the Roots of a Supercomputer

Q & A deep dive with 2022 Innovation Hall of Fame inductee, David Bader (electrical engineering, Ph.D. ’96)

UMD Welcomes A. James Clark Scholars Class of '26

The A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland welcomes 11 exceptional young engineers from across the state of Maryland as its newest class of A. James Clark Scholars.

Alumnus David A. Bader to be Inducted into Clark School Innovation Hall of Fame

Induction celebrates Bader’s work to democratize supercomputing through the creation of the first Linux supercomputer.

Cementing His Legacy

Builder, alum Stanley R. Zupnik's latest gift expands innovation footprint of Maryland Engineering

"This Is Where It's At"

U.S. Commerce Secretary's Visit Highlights Importance of UMD, Higher Ed to Future of Domestic Electronics Industry

ECE Recognizes 2022 Distinguished Alumni Awardees

Award recognizes alumni who have made significant and meritorious contributions to their fields.

Training Can Improve Older Adults’ Ability to Discriminate Rapid Changes in Sound

Findings support subsequent studies on hearing loss-reversing interventions

Four ECE Faculty Retire

The department honors these individuals and thanks them for their years of teaching and service.

Professor Thomas E. Murphy Named Interim Chair

Professor Joseph Jaja steps down after four years of service to the Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering.

New ECE/ISR assistant professor wins award for dissertation

Kaiqing Zhang won the UIUC Coordinated Science Laboratory's award for his 2021 thesis on reinforcement learning.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)