Faculty Directory

Sprangle, Phillip

Sprangle, Phillip

Electrical and Computer Engineering
Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics
3351 A.V. Williams Building


  • Ph.D., Applied Physics, Cornell University, 1973
  • M.S., University of Puerto Rico, 1969
  • B.S., Electrical Engineering, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, 1967


  • Presidential Rank Award (2015) highest government award given to a civilian
  • Advanced Accelerator Concept Prize (2014)
  • James Clerk Maxwell Prize (2013)
  • Fred E. Saalfeld Award (2012) highest scientific award that ONR confers
  • Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award (2011) highest scientific award that NRL confers
  • IEEE Plasma Science Award (2008)
  • Top Navy Scientist and Engineer of the Year Award (2008)
  • Sigma Xi Pure Science Award (1994)
  • International Free Electron Laser Prize (1991)
  • Washington Technology's Top Ten Talents (1989)
  • E. O. Hulburt Science and Engineering Award (1986)


  • Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS, 1981)
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE, 1997)
  • Fellow of the¬†Directed Energy Professional Society (DEPS, 2005)
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA, 2010)

Orcid: 0000-0001-8521-4128, Google Scholar

  • Atmospheric propagation of high-energy lasers
  • Ultra-short pulse laser matter interaction and propagation
  • Nonlinear optics
  • Free electron lasers
  • Nonlinear plasma physics
  • Laser driven accelerators

Professor Sprangle retains a partial position at the Naval Research Laboratory, where he serves as a Senior Scientist for Directed Energy Physics.

ECE Researchers Represented on Three 2020 MURI Awards

These five-year grants will be provided to teams located across 52 U.S. academic institutions, subject to satisfactory research progress and the availability of funds.

Radioactive Material Detected Remotely Using Laser-induced Electron Avalanche Breakdown

New method developed by UMD researchers could be scaled up to improve security at ports of entry

Clark School Researchers Represented on Four 2017 MURI Awards

UMD is one of the top universities represented among the highly competitive grants awarded this year.

Waks, Chellappa, Milchberg and Sprangle Participate in Different Department of Defense MURI Projects

Research teams at UMD receive grants for multidisciplinary research initiatives.

Sprangle Awarded 2013 Maxwell Prize

A. James Clark School of Engineering professor recognized for pioneering contributions in plasma physics.

Other professional society fellows

Optical Society of America (OSA)

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

American Physical Society (APS)