35th Annual Convocation of the University of Maryland

Wednesday, September 12, 2018
3:00 p.m.
Memorial Chapel

The University of Maryland holds an annual convocation to honor faculty and staff for their contributions to education, research, and/or service. It will be held on Wednesday, September 12, 2018, at 3 PM, at Memorial Chapel, followed by a reception in the Chapel Garden.

This year’s honorees:

President's Medal: Darryll Pines, Dean of the Clark School of Engineering and Nariman Farvardin Professor

Distinguished Service Award: Luis Alfonzo (Arboretum & Landscape Services), Joan Burton (Undergraduate Studies), John Romano (Center for the Advanced Student of Language), Terry Zacker (Student Affairs), and Cheryl Hill (College of Agriculture and Natural Resources)

Kirwan Undergraduate Education Award: Reid Compton (Biology)

Kirwan Research and Scholarship Prize: Peter Shawhan (Physics)

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher: Merle Angela Collins (English), Jeffery Davis (Chemistry and Biochemistry), PK Kannan (Ralph Tyser Professor of Marketing and Science, Marketing), Anne Simon (Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics), Ichiro Takeuchi (Material Science and Engineering), and Shibley Telhami (Anwar Sadat Chair for Peace, Government and Politics).

Distinguished University Professor: John Baras (Lockheed Martin Chair in Systems Engineering, Institute for Systems Research and Electrical and Computer Engineering), Peter Carruthers (Philosophy), Christopher Gekker (Music), Theodore Jacobson (Physics), and Isaak Mayergoyz, (Alford Ward Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Audience: Public 


March 2019

24 25 26 27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
Submit an Event