Faculty Directory

Murphy, Thomas E.

Murphy, Thomas E.

Keystone Professor
Director, Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics
1201J Energy Research Facility


  • Ph.D., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2001
  • M.S., Electrical and Computer Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1997
  • B.A./B.S.E.E., Physics and Electrical Engineering, Rice University, 1994


Thomas E. Murphy studied physics and electrical engineering at Rice University, graduating with joint B.A./B.S.E.E. degrees in 1994. After receiving his Ph.D. degree in in electrical engineering in 2000 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he joined MIT Lincoln Laboratory as a staff member in the Optical Communications Technology Group.  In 2002, he joined the faculty at the University of Maryland in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  He currently serves as the director of the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics.  His research interests include nonlinear and ultrafast optics, optical and optoelectronic materials, terahertz photonics, electrooptics and microwave photonics.  He is a senior member of the IEEE and a fellow of the Optical Society of America. 


  • Distinguished Scholar-Teacher, The University of Maryland (2020-2021)
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America (2016)
  • Clark School of Engineering Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award (2010)
  • Clark School of Engineering E. Robert Kent Junior Faculty Teaching Award (2008)
  • Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award (2007)
  • NSF Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award (2006)
  • George Corcoran Award, ECE Department, University of Maryland (2005)
  • Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award (2004)

Orcid: 0000-0002-8286-3832

  • Optical communications
  • Short-pulse phenomena
  • Numerical simulation
  • Optical pulse propagation
  • Nanotechnology and integrated photonics

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Program honors members of UMD faculty who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements along with equally outstanding accomplishments as teachers.

Behtash Babadi Wins Clark School's Junior Faculty Teaching Award

The Clark School gives this award to a junior faculty member for excellence in teaching.

Prof. Sang Bok Lee appointed director of Maryland NanoCenter

UMD chemist will direct two labs on nanoscale fabrication and characterization

MSE Seeks Applications for Professor & Department Chair

Position will remain open until filled, but applications should be submitted by February 19, 2018, for best consideration.

Thomas E. Murphy Reappointed as Director of IREAP

Thomas E. Murphy Reappointed as Director of IREAP

Alumnus Ahmadi Wins Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship

Ahmadi is one of only 126 individuals in the US to win an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

UMD Researchers Make Breakthrough in Terahertz Technology

New Tunable Graphene Sensor Design Has Implications for Many Fields

UMD Invention of the Year Nominees Push Boundaries in Health, Energy, and Security

Campus inventors to be honored at Celebration of Innovation and Partnerships

Rafael Setra Named One of Three 2014 UMD Goldwater Scholars

Electrical Engineering and Math major was one of three University of Maryland students selected

Six ECE Graduate Students Selected as Future Faculty Fellows

Students striving toward a career in academia take part in a selective fellowship to prepare for the future.

Optical Society of America (OSA)