Sennur Ulukus Announced as New ECE Chair

news story image

Professor Sennur Ulukus

Professor Sennur Ulukus has been named the new chair of the Clark School’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  Her tenure as chair began on November 7th.  She is currently the ECE Associate Chair for Graduate Studies and holds a joint appointment with the Institute of Systems Research (ISR).  She is the Anthony Ephremides Professor in Information Sciences and Systems, and has been recognized at UMD with a 2016 UMD Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award, the 2012 ECE George Corcoran Outstanding Teaching Award, and a 2011 ISR Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award.  She holds a joint appointment with the Institute for Systems Research (ISR).

Samuel Graham, dean of the Clark School of Engineering, states “Dr. Ulukus has the experience, expertise and vision to lead ECE in influential new directions, while continuing its record of success: She has demonstrated a strong dedication to ECE at the University of Maryland and is committed to growing the department and advancing its reputation.”

Ulukus joined the University of Maryland as an Assistant Professor in 2001. She received her B.S. and M.S. degrees from Bilkent University and a Ph.D. from Rutgers University.  Before joining UMD, she worked at AT&T Labs.

Her research interests are in information sciences and systems, particularly wireless communications, information theory, signal processing and networking.  She has been recognized for her research in many areas.  In 2003, she received the IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications. She has also been honored with a 2005 National Science Foundation CAREER Award; 2019 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award, 2020 IEEE Communications Society Women in Communications Engineering Outstanding Achievement Award, 2020 IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Green Communications and Computing Distinguished Technical Achievement Recognition Award. In 2016 she was named a Fellow of IEEE for “contributions to characterizing performance limits of wireless networks”, and in 2018-2019 was named a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Information Theory Society.

Ulukus succeeds Joseph Jaja, Interim ECE Chair from 2018 to 2022 and current ECE Interim Chair Thomas Murphy.


Published November 1, 2022