Faculty Directory

Narayan, Prakash

Narayan, Prakash

Electrical and Computer Engineering
The Institute for Systems Research
2353 A.V. Williams Bldg.

Prakash Narayan received the Bachelor of Technology degree in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras in 1976, and the M.S. and D.Sc. degrees in Systems Science and Mathematics, and Electrical Engineering, respectively, from Washington University, St. Louis, MO., in 1978 and 1981.

He is Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park, with a joint appointment at the Institute for Systems Research. He is also a founding member of the Maryland Hybrid Networks Center (formerly the Center for Satellite and Hybrid Communication Networks), a NASA Commercial Space Center. He has held visiting appointments at ETH, Zurich; the Technion, Haifa; the Renyi Institute of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest; the University of Bielefeld; the Institute of Biomedical Engineering (formerly LADSEB), Padova; and the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Dr. Narayan currently serves on the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society. He has served as Associate Editor for Shannon Theory for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory; Co-Organizer of the IEEE Workshop on Multi-User Information Theory and Systems, VA (1983); Technical Program Chair of the IEEE/IMS Workshop on Information Theory and Statistics, VA (1994); General Co-Chair of the IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory, Washington, D.C. (2001); and Technical Program Co-Chair of the IEEE Information Theory Workshop, Bangalore (2002).

He is a Fellow of the IEEE.

Honors and awards

    •    IEEE Fellow
    •    NSF Research Initiation Award (1982)
    •    Editorial Board, IEEE Transactions on Information Theory (2000 - 2003)



Multiuser information theory and coding for communications networks, information theoretic security, communication theory, information theory and statistics, and communication networks. Current research projects include studies of: connections between common randomness generation by multiple terminals, network secret key generation, and combinatorial tree packing in multigraphs; secure function computation; reliable communication over hybrid radio frequency and free space optical communication systems; and sampling-quantization-distortion tradeoffs in thermal profile estimation for multicore processor chips.

Narayan receives NSF funding for shared information work

The research could have implications for communication networks in smart homes, reconstructing satellite images, and automated guided vehicles and drone swarm messaging protocols.

Sagnik Bhattacharya named a Future Faculty Fellow

The Clark School program prepares Ph.D. students for careers in academia.

Alum Himanshu Tyagi promoted to Associate Professor at Indian Institute of Science

The former student of Prakash Narayan has research interests in information theory to security, interactive communication and statistical learning.

Alum Himanshu Tyagi wins 2020 INSA Medal for Young Scientists

The Indian National Science Academy awards the medal for promise, creativity and excellence in a young scientist.

Narayan is PI for NSF information-theoretic signal processing sampling research grant

Research has implications for smart home sensors, aerial surveillance, computer vision and social networks.

Narayan and students publish three articles in IEEE Transactions on Information Theory

Articles were written on spatial sampling, sampling rate distortion and data privacy.

ECE Names 2016-2017 Distinguished Dissertation Fellows

Five Electrical and Computer Engineering Ph.D. students were selected as ECE Distinguished Dissertation Fellows for 2016-17.

Narayan, Zhou, Schlotfeldt, Strahan win ISR outstanding awards

ISR confers awards of excellence in its annual ceremony.

Subramanian and Wheeler win 2015 ISR awards

Graduate student and staff member honored at annual ceremony.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

  • Fellow, 2001