Faculty Directory

Mayergoyz, Isaak D.

Mayergoyz, Isaak D.

Distinguished University Professor
Alford L. Ward Professor
Distinguished Scholar-Teacher
Electrical and Computer Engineering
A.V. Williams 2335



Prof. Mayergoyz received his Master and Ph.D. degrees in the former Soviet Union where he worked as a senior research scientist in the Institute of Cybernetics of Ukranian Academy of Sciences before his emigration to the United States. On his arrival to the United States in 1980, he became a full professor of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department of University of Maryland, College Park. In cooperation with Prof. Fawzi Emad, he established the electric power engineering curriculum and educational program in the ECE Department and has maintained it for more than 40 years. For many years, he served as a consultant for the Research and Development Center of General Electric Company and participated in the development of MRI systems. He has been selected as a visiting research fellow of this center. He has authored and coauthored 14 books and over 400 scientific papers. He is a Fellow of IEEE (1988), Visiting Research Fellow of GE Research and Development Center (1988), Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Magnetics Society (1994), Distinguished Scholar-Teacher of University of Maryland, College Park (1994) and a recipient of Outstanding Teacher Award of College of Engineering (1987). In 2009, he received the Achievement Award of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Magnetics Society, the highest award given by the society. He was appointed Distinguished University Professor in 2018. He has served on numerous IEEE committees, editorial boards of scientific journals and as the Editor of Academic Press-Elsevier Electromagnetism series.




  • Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland (2018)
  • Selected for prestigious cover of IEEE Magnetics Letters (2017)
  • IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award (2009)
  • Member and past Chair of IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award Selection Committee (2010-present)
  • Winner, UM $50K Business Competition, Faculty & Graduate Student Category (2006)
  • Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award, University of Maryland (1995-1996)
  • College of Engineering Poole and Kent Senior Faculty Teaching Award (1987)
  • IEEE Fellow (1988)
  • IEEE Magnetic Society Distinguished Lecturer (1994)
  • George Corcoran Award, ECE Department, University of Maryland (1982)
  • Outstanding Professor Award of the IEEE Student Branch of University of Maryland (1982)
  • Member and Chair of IEEE Fellows Evaluation Committee of Magnetics Society (2003-2006)
  • Member of Editorial Board of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics (1997-present)
  • Editor of Academic Press-Elsevier Electromagnetism Series (1996-2009)
  • Member of Administrative Committee of IEEE Magnetics Society (1997-2003)
  • Editor of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics (1997-2001)
  • Coordinator of IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer Program (1996-2002)
  • Member of Edison Medal Committee of IEEE Award Board (1989-1991)
  • Associate Editor of "COMPEL," International Journal on Numerical Computations and Mathematics in Electrical and Electronic Engineering (1981-1995)
  • Research Fellow of GE Research Development Center



Electrostatic (Plasmon) Resonances in Metallic and Semiconductor Nanoparticles, Spintronics, Nonlinear Magnetization Dynamics in Nanosystems, Analysis of Fluctuations in Ultra Small (Nano) Semiconductor Devices, Mathematical Modelling of Hysteresis, Drive Independent Recovery and Forensics of Hard Disk Data ,Computational Electromagnetics,Power Engineering



Book Chapters:



Fischell Institute Womxn’s History Month Spotlight: Sydney Overton

Overton’s research focuses on developing an ingestible serotonin-sensing capsule device to help elucidate the role of serotonin in the gut microbiota-brain axis (GMBA).

ECE Alumnus Named President of Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology

Dr. Amr A. Adly (ECE Ph.D. ’92) to head Egypt-based research institution.

Alumnus Adly Appointed Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics

Adly, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Power Engineering at Cairo University, received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Maryland in 1992.

Paper on Macroeconomic Hysteresis by Mayergoyz Makes SSRN Top Ten List

Paper published by Prof. Mayergoyz and alumnus Korman was recently listed on the SSRN Top Ten Download List.

Professor Mayergoyz and Alumnus Tyagi Publish Book, “Pulse Width Modulation in Power Electronics”

Mayergoyz and Tyagi discuss various PWM techniques with a focus on the optimal time-domain PWM techniques.

Murphy Named 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher by the University of Maryland

The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Program honors members of UMD faculty who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievements along with equally outstanding accomplishments as teachers.

Mayergoyz and Tyagi’s Publication Chosen as an Editor’s Pick by AIP Advances

The paper explores an optimal time-domain technique for pulse-width modulation in three-phase inverters.

Professor Mayergoyz and Alumnus Korman Publish Book on Hysteresis and Neural Memory

The book focuses on Preisach hysteresis models and their applications to the modeling of neural memory.

Alumnus Mihai Dimian awarded $1M grant to develop a hybrid platform of visible light communications and augmented reality

Funded by the Romanian Ministry of Research, the project aims to develop, implement and optimize an enhanced visible light communication system for road safety applications.

Alumnus Adly Appointed to Deputy Minister of Higher Education for University Affairs

Adly’s research interests include electromagnetics, electrical machines, analog and digital circuit design, and superconductivity.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)