Profile of alum Nikolaos Sidiropoulos featured in IEEE SPS newsletter

news story image

The IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) has written a feature profile on ECE and ISR alum Nikolaos Sidiropoulos (EE Ph.D. 1992) for its June 2023 Inside Signal Processing newsletter. He was lauded as  an "SPS Pioneer in IEEE History."

Sidiropoulos, the Louis T. Rader Professor at the University of Virginia, also served as chair of its Charles L. Brown Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (2017–2021).

At Maryland, Sidiropoulos was a student of Professor John Baras (ECE/ISR). From 1994–1997, he was a postdoctoral researcher and ISR assistant research scientist. Prior to his current appointment, Sidiropoulos served on the faculty of the University of Minnesota and the Technical University of Crete, Greece.

In 2022, Sidiropoulos received three SPS awards: the Claude Shannon-Harry Nyquist Technical Achievement Award, the Best Paper Award, and the Donald G. Fink Overview Paper Award. He was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 2009 for “contributions to signal processing for communications” and as vice-president of IEEE SPS from 2017-2019. He was elected a Fellow of EURASIP in 2014. He received the NSF CAREER Award in 1998, the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) Best Paper Award in 2001, 2007, and 2011, and served as IEEE SPS Distinguished Lecturer (2008-2009). He received the 2010 IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award. He received the University of Maryland Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013.

The profile includes an interesting interview with Sidiropoulos. Read it here.

Published June 16, 2023